top of page

Overcoming the B2 plateau when speaking in English

Here you are some expressions to improve your speaking and to overcome the B2 plateau when speaking in English:


I THINK

  • It seems to me (that)...

  • I have the impression that... Personally,

  • To my mind,

  • I don’t know about you, but I ...

  • I feel (strongly) that...

  • I very firmly feel.../I’m a firm believer that...

  • I (strongly) believe that...

  • Speaking from personal experience, For me personally,


WHAT DO YOU THINK?

  • How do you feel about...?

  • What's your take on...?

  • Where do you stand on....?

  • What are your thoughts on this? What do you reckon (informal)?


GENERAL OPINIONS:

  • It is generally accepted/believed that It is evident that

  • Studies suggest that.../The evidence suggests that...


KEEPING YOUR LISTENER ENGAGED:

  • Rhetorical questions (questions you don’t really expect an answer for, you sort of answer them yourself): What do I mean by that? / Is smoking dangerous? Of course it is

  • As you very well know, ...


AGREEING:

  • Absolutely /Exactly /Definitely

  • I see what you mean

  • I see your point

  • I couldn’t agree more

  • You have a point there.

  • You’ve hit the nail on the head

  • You took the words right out of my mouth.


DISAGREEING:

  • I see your point, but...

  • Your point is well taken, but ...

  • I beg to differ

  • I'm afraid) That’s not always the case

  • I fail to see the point (of...)


LOOKING FOR AGREEMENT:

• Wouldn’t you agree...?

• Wouldn’t you say so?

• Question tags (Isn’t it, has it...)

• You know what I mean,


ACCEPTING A SUGGESTION:

  • It’s a definite maybe

REJECTING A SUGGESTION:

  • To be honest, it’s not really my cup of tea

  • To be (perfectly) honest/frank, ...

  • Not to put too fine a point on it (=I’m sorry I’m being completely direct and honest)

IN GENERAL

  • By and large

  • In general terms

GIVING EXAMPLES

  • By way of an example

  • A case in point is..../ ... is a case in point

DIRECT THE CONVERSATION TOWARDS THE TOPIC: • By the way, • Speaking of... • Speaking of which, • That reminds me of...

SUMMARISING: • In a nutshell, • To make a long story short,

• The bottom line is ...


CAUSES:

  • This is (largely) due to the fact that

  • I consider/believe ... to be a crucial factor The main reason behind this is

  • It’s mainly/mostly down to.../on account of...

  • In view of...

  • Seeing that...

DISCUSSING RESULTS:

  • Has a knock-on effect

  • Has a(n) (clear) effect/impact

  • As a result/On account of

  • This invariably/undoubtedly leads to ...


OFFERING SOLUTIONS:

  • ...would be a satisfactory solution ...would be a positive outcome


CONCLUSIONS:

  • At the end of the day

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page